Week 10 – Success Principle #17 – Ask

Standard

“We are afraid to ask not because we are afraid of the answer, but because we are afraid of the feeling of rejection.” ― Anna R.

.

Several years ago, I was attending one of Jack Canfield’s workshops on success. Jack Canfield is the co-author of the Chicken Soup for the Soul series and a wonderful book on success titled, The Success Principles. At that time, I was the coordinator and lead instructor for the College Success Program at Bow Valley College in Calgary. I was also completing my Master’s degree in Leadership and Education.

As part of my Master’s, I had to complete a thesis. Somehow, I got the idea in my head that I wanted to complete my thesis in transformational leadership and work with the Transformational Leadership Council (TLC). TLC is an organization the Jack Canfield started because he wanted to spend time with like-minded people. You may have seen many of the members of the TLC in the hit movie The Secret.

I attended Jack’s one-day success workshop because I was determined to “corner” Jack at the workshop and ask him how I might complete my thesis with the TLC. Or, at least, that was the theory. All morning long, I chickened-out.  I was too afraid to ask.

index

At lunch, I realized I didn’t have much time left, so I decided the next break was “do or die”, I would stand in the book signing line and ask him when I got to the front of the line.

As luck would have it, right before we stopped for that very break, Jack talked about how success principle #17 was: ASK. He said, there are many successful people are only too happy to support those who are starting out, and pave the way for them. Just ask. If you ask enough, eventually you will get what you need.

How perfect!

So, I stood in line. (I was sweating by the time I got to the front). When it was my turn to have my book signed, I handed Jack my book and said, “Mr. Canfield, I’m currently doing my Master’s degree in transformational leadership. As part of that, I have to do a thesis. I would like to work with the Transformational Leadership Council on that thesis. How could I get 15 minutes of your time to talk to you about what that might look like?” Jack was about to say something, caught himself, gave me a funny look, then said, “Actually, the best person for you to talk to is Paul Scheele. Let me take your contact information and I will get back to you.”

I gave Jack all my info.

Two weeks later, I received a call from Jack’s personal secretary giving me Paul’s contact info. To make a long story short, Paul Scheele, who is the founder of Learning Strategies and Scheele Learning, an amazing hypnotist, NLP practitioner and educator, is now one of my mentors. That question I asked Jack resulted in me living (for six months) in California, two blocks from Venice beach and working on my Master’s thesis with Agape International Spiritual Center, an organization started by Michael Bernard Beckwith. I can honestly say, it was one of the most powerful times in my life. And, it happened because I ASKED!

This week’s success tip is: Success Principle #17—Just ASK! I can’t guarantee you’ll spend six months living in California, two blocks from the beach, but you might be surprised where you end up! I can tell you, that day I stood in line in Calgary, Alberta and asked Jack for 15 minutes of his time, I NEVER could have imagined I would end up in California working with Agape! (AND two blocks from the beach to boot!) This week, just ask!

Tip:

  1. Think about something you want to achieve in your life, a group you want to work with, a goal you have, or a need.
  2. Make a list of five people who can help you in some way—whether they can provide it themselves, or direct you to the right person.
  3. Set a time to meet with each of them, either informally over coffee, or formally in a meeting.
  4. Take a deep breath, and just ASK! (Sweating like I did is optional!)
  5. At the end of the week, use the weekly review process outlined in the About tab to review your progress.

 

For more information on Jack Canfield: http://jackcanfield.com/

For more information on Paul Scheele: http://scheelelearning.com/

Leave a Reply

